Skip to Content
Schedule Your Consultation 702-357-9977
Drunk Driving Accidents

Las Vegas Drunk Driving Accident Attorneys

Helping Victims of Motor Vehicle Accidents in Nevada

It’s illegal to drink and drive with a blood alcohol content level of .08 percent or above in all 50 states, including Nevada, but unfortunately this doesn’t stop all individuals from doing it. In Nevada, more than 10,000 drivers are arrested for DUIs every year, and DUI accidents kill 100 Nevadans annually.

Whether you’ve been injured by a negligent driver or a loved one has been killed in a drunk driving accident, you deserve to be represented by a personal injury firm that has the skills necessary to take your case to court if need be.

At Christiansen Trial Lawyers, our drunk driving accident attorneys have served clients in Las Vegas and throughout Nevada for over 25 years and have secured millions in damages.

For high-quality legal services in English or Spanish, contact our team online or at (702) 357-9977. Your consultation is free and you don’t pay us a cent until we win your case.

Drunk Driving Laws in Nevada

Nevada refers to drunk driving as “driving under the influence” and prevents all motorists from operating vehicles while under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

Though the BAC is set at .08 percent or more for adults, it’s lower for drivers under the age of 21 at .02 percent, while commercial drivers can get arrested for BACs of .04 percent or more.

The penalties for a DUI will vary depending on whether the DUI is a first, second, or subsequent offense. These penalties in Nevada include:

  • First offense: 180-day maximum stint in jail, fines of $400 minimum, 185-day license revocation, and 185 days using an ignition interlock device if BAC is less than .18 percent.
  • Second offense: 180-day maximum stint in jail, fines of $750 minimum, 1 year license revocation, and 185 days using an ignition interlock device if BAC is less than .18 percent.
  • Third offense: 1 to 6 years in prison, $2,000 minimum fine, 3 years license revocation, and 1 to 3 years using an ignition interlock device requirement.

It’s important to note that DUI penalties don’t include any compensation for victims that the negligent driver may have injured.

These drivers may face criminal charges, but a civil claim isn’t automatic. This is why people who have been injured in drunk driving accidents need to file a personal injury claim if they wish to seek justice on behalf of themselves or their loved ones.

Who Can I Sue in a DUI Accident?

In most cases, the driver is responsible for a drunk driving accident. All drivers have a responsibility to follow state laws and keep others safe on the road; when someone breaks the law by getting drunk and then operating a vehicle, they’re being negligent.

Some obvious dangers that accompany drunk driving and usually lead to accidents include:

  • Slowed reaction times: People under the influence of alcohol are much slower in responding to situations in both mind and body. This is dangerous when on the road, where emergencies can happen at any time and require a driver to make fast decisions like swerving out of the way.
  • Impaired motor functions: In addition to being slower, impaired drivers also have a harder time with their motor skills. Simple actions like stepping on the brakes or shifting gears can suddenly be extremely challenging and confusing, and many drivers might find that they can’t multitask when they’re driving – all of this can lead to a collision when a driver makes mistakes or is too distracted to pay attention to the road.
  • Clouded judgment: Drunk people are more likely to take risks or do things they wouldn’t otherwise do if they were sober. This inhibition is dangerous when it comes to driving, as all drivers should practice caution. Drunk drivers are more likely to run red lights and stop signs, as well as speed.

In rarer cases, victims can sue the individual or establishment that either allowed the driver to get behind the wheel or willingly served them knowing they were drunk, such as a bar or restaurant. If it turns out that the driver was drunk but the vehicle had a defective part that contributed to the accident, the victim can hold a vehicle manufacturer liable for damages.

Because multiple parties can share liability in certain situations, it’s crucial to hire a personal injury attorney who has experienced navigating car accident claims.

Trust Our Team of Courtroom Lawyers

Having secured verdicts and settlements totaling millions of dollars, our attorneys can be trusted to put your well-being first and get the results you need to pay for medical bills, lost income, pain and suffering, and more.

If your family member was killed by a drunk driver, we can take additional costs into consideration like funeral bills and loss of companionship. Our main priority is ensuring our clients have what they need to heal.

Our Las Vegas drunk driving accident attorneys are committed to holding negligent drivers responsible and ensuring that you have everything you need to get your life back on track after injuries. Call (702) 357-9977

  • Super Lawyers
  • Martindale-Hubbell AV
  • American Trial Lawyers Association
  • Nevada Justice Association
  • Nevada Attorneys for Criminal Justice
  • Super Lawyers Rising Star

We Are Real Lawyers for Real Accidents

Let Our Team Protect Your Rights & Future
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
  • By submitting, you agree to be contacted about your request & other information using automated technology. Message frequency varies. Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to cancel. Acceptable Use Policy