Las Vegas Assault Lawyer
Aggressive Defense Against Assault Charges
An assault charge is serious. Depending on the degree of alleged threat or violence, the offense may be classified as a misdemeanor or felony. The penalties for conviction are determined by the severity of the incident.
If you or someone you love has been charged with assault in Nevada, it is critical that you seek experienced legal representation. At Christiansen Trial Lawyers, our lawyers deliver qualified and aggressive criminal defense with an emphasis on personalized attention.
What is the Difference Between Assault & Battery?
Assault and battery are two separate criminal offenses.
- Assault is the act of threatening physical violence against another.
- Battery is intentionally causing physical harm to the person.
While battery frequently accompanies an assault charge, assault can be charged on its own. Whether you have been charged with domestic violence, aggravated assault, which involves the use of a weapon, or another type of assault, we will work to protect your rights and freedom.
What are the Penalties for Assault in Nevada?
In Nevada, to prove an assault charge, the prosecution needs to show that you intended to commit the crime and that the alleged victim was aware of the act while it was occurring.
- Simple assault is usually charged as misdemeanor and can lead to up to 6 months in jail and fines up to $1,000.
- Aggravated assault is a felony charge and comes with up to 6 years in jail and fines up to $5,000.
Our Las Vegas assault defense lawyers will build a strong legal strategy in your favor. We will carefully review your case and find weaknesses in the prosecution’s argument. Our goal is to minimize the impact of the charge on your life.
Let Us Help You
Before you speak to police officers or investigators, it is important that you talk to a lawyer. Law enforcement officials are trained in interrogation methods and can use anything you say against you at a later date.