Las Vegas DUI Defense Attorneys
Knowledgeable on Intoxicated Driving Laws in Nevada
Have you been arrested for drunk driving in Nevada? You need the skill and experience of a DUI defense lawyer to see you through the complicated legal maze that awaits you. Many states have now lowered the legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit from .10 to .08% for adults, and more than a dozen have passed Zero Tolerance laws that prohibit drivers under 21 years old from having any measurable amount of alcohol in their blood system. As the legal limits decrease, the chances of being charged with drunk driving increase if you choose to drink and drive.
At Christiansen Trial Lawyers, we have more than 65 years of combined legal experience providing criminal defense representation for clients charged with drunk driving. We can take immediate steps to help minimize the effects of a drunk driving charge. Contact our Las Vegas DUI defense attorneys to arrange for your free consultation and see how our lawyers can assist you.
Common Drunk Driving Defenses
When you’ve been arrested, you may think there is no way out of a charge for driving under the influence. However, Nevada DUI cases are almost always complex, and there are a variety of ways a defense attorney can get charges reduced or dismissed entirely. There needs to be a sufficient amount of evidence to secure a conviction, and our attorneys are up to the task of investigating every detail to weaken the case against you.
We know the defenses that can help you move forward, including:
- Challenging the field sobriety test results
- Questioning the reason for the initial traffic stop
- Determining whether the breath test or blood alcohol test was administered properly
- Determining whether the police officer violated your rights in any way
Drunk driving (DUI) convictions can result in large fines, loss of your driver’s license, and even jail time, particularly when there have been multiple DUI charges or an accident that caused an injury. At Christiansen Trial Lawyers, we have considerable experience representing clients charged with DUI for both their criminal case and at the DMV hearing to preserve their driving privileges.
If your license was revoked because of a DUI charge, you only have 10 days to request a DMV hearing, so do not wait to contact us. The sooner we go to work for you, the better our chances are for obtaining a favorable result in your case.
Penalties for First Time Offenses
When you’ve been charged with a DUI, you need to enlist the help of a locally based law firm that has gone to bat for members of their community. Our team is based in Las Vegas and knows full well what the penalties are for DUIs. We’re able to use our knowledge to fight for your rights and your future.
Some penalties that typically accompany a first offense of drunk driving (as a misdemeanor) include:
- $400 to $1,000 in fines
- 2 days to 6 months in jail time
- 8-hour DUI school
- 185-day driver’s license revocation
It’s important to know that a DUI is much more than just a traffic ticket – it’s a crime that can have you entered into the system. It’s imperative that you hire legal representation, rather than attempt to handle your case on your own.
What If My Child Was Charged with a DUI as a Minor?
A person under 21 charged with a DUI in Nevada faces largely the same criminal penalties as anyone else, in addition to minor consumption charges. But if you or your son or daughter is facing these charges, you have a lot more at stake than meets the eye. A conviction could hamper the educational and employment prospects of the accused for years to come.
While adults can have up to .08% alcohol in their system and still drive legally, that standard does not apply to those under the age of 21. Minors caught driving with any detectable amount of alcohol in their blood are charged with drunk driving. Prosecutors take this zero-tolerance law very seriously and will likely pursue the maximum criminal penalties.
Although this may have been a one-time mistake, the consequences you face are very real. In addition to fines, jail time, and loss of your drivers’ license, your child may be expelled from school. They may lose their job and have difficulty finding another one. Our DUI defense attorneys understand how important the outcome of this case is to your present and your future. We do everything in our power to help our clients avoid the consequences of a criminal conviction.
Let Our Las Vegas DUI Attorneys Help You
If you are charged with DUI in Nevada, you should not proceed without the advice and guidance of an experienced DUI defense lawyer. We can help by protecting your rights, securing your driving privileges, and shielding you from conviction. Alcohol isn’t the only substance that can lead to a DUI charge in Nevada – you can also be charged if you were driving while under the influence of prescription drugs, illegal drugs, and marijuana.
Contact our Las Vegas office at (702) 357-9977 immediately to arrange for your free consultation with our DUI defense attorneys.