DUID & Drug Intoxication Defense Attorney in Las Vegas
Arrested for Driving Under the Influence of Drugs in Nevada? Call 24/7
Nevada law prohibits the operation of a vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or a controlled substance. The state defines the term "under the influence" as a state where one's ability to drive a vehicle is impaired. This can be proven through a number of factors, including a chemical test, field sobriety test, or evidence that the person was driving erratically. If you were arrested for a DUI in Las Vegas and you were under the influence of drugs, you may be facing serious penalties.
Penalties for Driving Under the Influence of Drugs in Las Vegas
While the specifics will depend on the controlled substances involved, whether or not there were injuries, and whether or not a defendant has prior criminal convictions, there are serious penalties on the table for a DUID conviction.
For a first-time drug DUI charge, you could be looking at:
- Up to 6 months in jail
- 48 to 96 hours of community service
- $400 to 1,000 in fines
- Paying for and completing drug and alcohol abuse training
- Paying for and installing an IID
If you have prior convictions, or if there were severe or fatal injuries in a resulting accident, penalties could include:
- 2 to 20 years in prison
- $2,000 to $5,000 in fines
- Becoming a convicted felon
What Controlled Substances Can Trigger a Drug DUI Charge?
If a prosecutor can prove impairment and a measurable amount of an illegal or prescription drug in the driver's system, then this could lead to a drug DUI charge conviction. However, Nevada law has set out some limits, similar to the BAC for standard DUI charges, and these limits set forth an amount under which it will be assumed that a driver is impaired, regardless of any other testing or observations.
Nevada's limits for illegal drugs in a driver's urine and blood are:
- Amphetamine: 500 ng/mL in urine or 100 ng/mL in blood
- Cocaine: 150 ng/mL in urine or 50 ng/mL in blood
- Heroin: 2,000 ng/mL in urine, or 50 ng/mL in blood
- LSD: 25 ng/mL in urine or 10 ng/mL in blood
- Methamphetamine: 500 ng/mL in urine or 100 ng/mL in blood
- Phencyclidine: 25 ng/mL in urine or 10 ng/mL in blood
What about cannabis or marijuana? While certain forms of cannabis consumption are legal in Nevada, if a driver is pulled over and they have 2 nanograms per milliliter (ng/mL) of THC, or 5 ng/mL or more of 11-hydroxy-THC in their system, then that driver can face drug DUI charges.
Of course, in many instances where the limit for illegal drugs in a driver's system doesn't exceed the limit for a drug DUI, there could still be the possibility of separate drug charges.
How Our Las Vegas Drug DUI Defense Attorneys Can Help
The DUI defense attorneys at Christiansen Trial Lawyers bring more than 120 years' combined experience, and we have been involved in hundreds of jury trials. We're ready to review your case and determine if you were under the influence of drugs and whether you can challenge the state's evidence. Our defense firm is also available 24/7 to help you. Get answers, legal advice, and trial-tested advocacy.