When you visit Las Vegas, you plan to take part in activities that many other places don’t allow. You expect to have fun indulging in the vibrant nightlife, seeing sights that you don’t usually see. But if you plan on driving around town, you may want to limit what you do.
While you know to avoid alcohol if you’re driving, you may choose to drive while under the influence of marijuana. Even though Las Vegas cops won’t charge you for possession, they can pull you over. And Nevada courts can still punish you with a DUI.
Nevada has a limit for how much THC can be in a driver’s system
In Nevada, the law states that drivers cannot drive under the influence of controlled substances. If police arrest someone for a DUI, they will test blood to determine how much of two common tetrahydrocannabinols (THC) are in the system. Drivers cannot have more than two nanograms per milliliter of blood of delta-9-THC or more than five nanograms of 11-OH-THC.
A marijuana DUI carries the same penalties as one for alcohol
If police test you for marijuana and find you are over the limit, courts can charge you with a DUI. Even if you are under the threshold, the arresting officer may say that you were too intoxicated to drive. You can face multiple penalties, including:
- Two days to six months in jail
- A fine between $400 and $1,000
- Community service
- Educational classes at your own expense
You may also need to install an ignition interlock device for up to six months. And when you go back to your home state, they may consider your Nevada DUI as a compounding factor to any future charges.
A sober cab can prevent a DUI
No matter how wild you plan to get on your Vegas trip, you don’t want to go home with a criminal record. You may want to make sure you have a sober ride before you leave your hotel.